New Video: JOVM Mainstays A Place to Bury Strangers Release a Wild Lysergic-Tinged Visual for Album Single “Execution”

I’ve written quite a bit about long-time, Brooklyn-based JOVM mainstays A Place to Bury Strangers throughout its 8 year history, and over that same period of time, the band currently comprised of Oliver Ackermann (vocals, guitar), Dion Lunadon (bass, guitar) and its newest member Lia Simone Braswell have developed a reputation for an unwavering and uncompromising commitment to unpredictable live shows — and for being one of the loudest bands on the planet. They’re also known for never writing an actual set list, for writing new songs in the middle of their sets and for deliberately provoking and sabotaging sound engineers in a variety of cruel and innovative ways — and as a result, they’re arguably one of the most exciting contemporary live bands you will see.

Dead Oceans will be releasing Re-Pinned, a remixed record featuring re-imagined and re-worked A Place to Bury Strangers tracks from SlowdiveTrentemøllerNo AgeMETZEric CopelandRoly PorterDavy Drones, and TBO. And to support the remix album and their latest effort, Pinned, the Brooklyn-based trio will be embarking on the second leg of their world tour with a NYC area date at the Doc Marten’s Union Square location — and you can check out the tour dates below; but before that, “Execution” is the latest single off Pinned and it finds the band adding subtle elements to their sound: scentered around noisy squalls of feedback,  a motorik groove, Ackermann’s pained, gritted teeth-like vocals and industrial clang and clatter, the song manages to feel much more tense and chillier while still remaining almost defiantly them.

Directed by Black Math‘s Evan Fellers, the recently released video for the song is centered around jarring neon-tinged visuals thrown into an equally surreal  backgrounds and reality, creating a wildly lysergic visual mix. As Fellers explains “It was a blast to craft this dark nugget of visual energy for this edgy track by APTBS. Fueled by the contours of potential meaning found in ‘Execution’, a free-form fall into defining this world resulted in 70% confused trip, 26% weird brain juice on the run, 3% humor & 1% whatever the hell you want it to be.”
Tour Dates:
Thu., Oct. 4, 2018 – New York, NY @ Dr. Marten’s Union Square
Sat., Oct. 6, 2018 – Seattle, WA @ Clock-Out Lounge #
Sun., Oct. 7, 2018 – Portland, OR @ Holocene #
Tue., Oct. 9, 2018 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Ballroom #
Thu., Oct. 11, 2018 – Los Angeles, CA – Echoplex w/ Beak
Sat., Oct. 13, 2018 – Moreno Beach – Lake Perris, CA @ Desert Daze
Mon., Oct. 15, 2018 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge #
Tue., Oct. 16, 2018 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall #
Thu., Oct. 18, 2018 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway #
Fri., Oct. 19, 2018 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle  #
Sat., Oct. 20, 2018 – Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI Indianapolis #
Mon., Oct. 22, 2018 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East #
Tue., Oct. 23, 2018 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar #
Thu., Oct. 25, 2018 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups #
Friday, Oct. 26, 2018 – Detroit, MI @ El Club #
Sat., Oct. 27, 2018 – Hamilton, ON @ The Casbah  #
Sun., Oct. 28, 2018 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern #
Mon., Oct. 29, 2018 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmount #
Sat., Nov. 3, 2018 – Capetown, South Africa @ Endless Daze Festival

# w/ Kraus

Advertisements