New Video: JOVM Mainstays Sego Releases an Anthemic Radio Friendly Take on Punk

Over the past handful of years of this site’s almost nine year history, I’ve written quite a bit about he Los Angeles, CA-based JOVM mainstays Sego. Initially comprised of Mapleton, UT-born founding duo Spencer Peterson and Thomas Carroll, the band expanded to a quartet with the addition of Alyssa Davey (bass) and Brandon McBride (guitar, keys) last year.

Slated for an April 5, 2019 release through Roll Call Records, Sego’s long-awaited sophomore album Sego Sucks is partially inspired by extensive by extensive touring the band has done across North America, Europe and the UK and by the addition of the band’s newest members, which has made the band’s sound and approach much more focused while retaining a raucous spirit. The album’s latest single is the rowdy and anthemic “Shame.” Centered around a shout along worthy series of hooks, buzzing and distorted guitars, thumping beats and electronics and ironically delivered lyrics, the song finds the band moving towards radio friendly, rousingly anthemic punk — with a mischievous sense of aplomb to boot.

The recently released band features the band playing in the studio but is shot in a series of rapid-fire stop-motion images that has the band rapidly changing clothes and instruments while appearing bored to the propulsive beat of the song.

The members of Sego are playing a handful of tour dates, including at this year’s SXSW. Check out the tour dates below.

Tour Dates:

2/8: Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex (Love You Down w. Warpaint)

3/13-3/16: Austin, TX @ SXSW

4/5: Provo, UT @ Velour (release show)