New Video: Sky Ferreira and Primal Scream Team Up for the Shimmering, Dance Floor-Ready Single “Where The Light Gets In”

Currently comprised of Bobby Gillespie (vocals), Andrew Innes (guitar), Martin Duffy (keys), Simone Butler (bass), Darrin Mooney (drums) and Barrie Cadogan (guitar), the Glasgow, Scotland-based quintet Primal Scream can trace their origins back to when the band’s founding members Gillespie and Jim Beattie founded the band back in 1982 — and throughout the band’s 34 year history the band has had a long-held reputation for relentless experimentation as the band has recorded albums across a variety of genres including indie pop, psych rock, garage rock and electro pop/electro rock among others.


Primal Scream’s 11th full-length effort, Chaosmosis is slated for a March 18 release through the band’s First International Records and Ignition Records, and the album which was written and produced by Gillespie and Innes, was also recorded in London, NYC and Stockholm. Interestingly, the album features guest spots from Sky Ferreira, Haim, and Cats Eyes‘ Rachel Zeffira while reportedly being one of the freshest sounding albums that the Glasgow, Scotland-based band has released in some time. Beginning with cascading layers of shimmering synths, four-on-the-floor drumming, buzzing guitars and duetting vocals between Ferreira’s ethereal cooing and Gillespie’s dry, ironic crooning, “Where The Light Begins” sounds like a breezy, increasingly dance floor ready version of “Autobahn 66.

The recently official video features Ferreira and the members of Primal Scream crate digging, vamping it up and being fierce while performing the song in front of multi-colored projections.