New Video: Surf Curse Releases a Cinematic “Midnight Cowboy” Inspired Visual for Their Latest Single

Comprised of Reno, NV-born, Los Angeles-based duo Nick Rattigan (vocals, drums) and Jacob Rubeck (guitar) the Los Angeles-based indie rock act Surf Curse formed back in 2013 when its core duo started the band in Reno. Since relocating to Los Angeles the band emerged from their adopted hometown’s local DIY, all-ages, punk scene, developing a reputation as one of the region’s best contemporary live acts, amassing a fervent, die-hard following — at first locally and now internationally.

The duo’s forthcoming Jarvis Tavaneire-produced third full-length album Heaven Surrounds You is slated for a September 13, 2019 release through Danger Collective Records and the album is a coming of age epic, inspired by the cult films the duo cherished while growing up in Reno. Sonically, the album reportedly is a bold and decided step forward for the band.  Last month, I wrote about the album’s first single, the swooning and lush “Disco” — and while nodding at The Smiths and others, the song is an urgent love song, evoking the throes and passions of first love with an uncanny accuracy.

The album’s latest single “Midnight Cowboy” continues on a similar vein as its predecessor: shimmering, hook-driven Smiths-like guitar pop, centered around the narrator’s unfulfilled longing for a different life than the one he currently has — a life of hustling and grifting out of desperate necessity. Written and directed by the band’s Jacob Rubeck, the recently released video for “Midnight Cowboy” was shot by the band’s Nick Rattigan, Julien Kelly and Melissa Ramirez and stars Rubeck and Jamie Simone. Influenced by the 1969 movie of the same name, Rubeck moves to the big city and becomes a prostitute. We follow Rubeck’s character as he meets his various johns — and rationalizes what he does; but we also see him full of regret and self-loathing throughout

The members of Surf Curse will be embarking on a lengthy North American tour to support the new album and it includes an October 4, 2019 stop at Rough Trade. Check out the tour date below.

Tour dates:
9/14 San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s
9/15 Reno, NV @ Holland Project
9/17 Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
9/19 Portland, OR @ Lola’s
9/20Boise, ID @ The Shredder
9/21 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
9/22 Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
9/24 Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell University
9/26 Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
9/27 Madison, WI University of Wisconsin
9/28 Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
9/29 Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx
9/30 Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground
10/1 Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz
10/4 Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC
10/5 Washington DC @ U-Street Music Hall
10/7 Nashville, TN @ DRKMTTR
10/8 Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
10/9 Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
10/10 Dallas, TX @ Three Links
10/11 Austin, TX @ Barracuda
10/12 San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
10/14 Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
10/16 San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park
10/17 Las Vegas, NV @ Vinyl at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
10/18 Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre